A Special Contest for Kansas Writers!

Hello everyone — just received word that Poets & Writers Magazine has selected our state for a special contest, which will give one Kansas poet and one Kansas fiction writer some amazing opportunities. Please read the letter below for details.

Dear Kansas Writer,

Poets & Writers has selected Kansas as the focus of the 2011 Maureen Egen Writers Exchange Award and is now welcoming submissions from Kansas writers. Initiated in 1984, the Writers Exchange Award was created to introduce emerging poets and fiction writers to the New York literary communities and provide them with a network for professional advancement. Each year, poets and fiction writers from one state are invited to apply for the award. To date, 80 writers from 32 states have participated.

One poet and one fiction writer from Kansas will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to New York City, where they will meet with agents, editors, and prominent writers, and give a public reading of their work. The winners will be selected by Rigoberto González (poetry) and Joan Silber (fiction).

The contest is open to poets and fiction writers who:

  • Have never published a book, or
  • Have published no more than one full-length book in the genre in which they are applying, and
  • Have resided in Kansas for at least two consecutive years prior to the date they submit their manuscripts.
  • An application must accompany all manuscripts and be postmarked no later than December 1, 2010. For complete guidelines and an application, please visit this site.

Read the press release here.


Bonnie Rose Marcus
Director, Writers Exchange